Click the Save Template button and now To The Break Of Dawn: April 2007

Wednesday, April 04, 2007

Dream Warriors - And Now, The Legacy Begins (Island 1991)

Sorry I haven't been posting up much stuff lately, I've been busy with a second job recently and it's hard to get to posting things regularly as I'd like (yeah right you've heard it before). But anyways I'm posting these two albums for now as they're slightly similar in style. For anyone who hasn't heard either of these, well then you're in for a treat because they fall into the Jazz Hip Hop category and I know just about everyone loves that style. I'd love to write up a nice intro for these albums but I'm tired as fuck so I'll just leave the AMG bio for Dream Warriors and a very informative article for The Future Sound, sorry.

A pair of deft, intelligent rappers based in Toronto, King Lou and Capital Q formed Dream Warriors and released one of the finest alternative rap records of the era, 1991's And Now, the Legacy Begins. The pair began working together in 1989, organizing their own Beat Factory Productions with Rupert Gayle and signing to 4th & Broadway. The single "Wash Your Face in My Sink" prefaced the release of And Now, the Legacy Begins, and another track, "My Definition of a Boombastic Jazz Style," became an early touchstone in the jazz-rap movement. Both singles hit the Top 20 in Britain, while in their own country the LP went gold and collected a Juno award. Unfortunately, the LP title proved ironic; four long years after their debut, the duo finally returned with Subliminal Simulation. It was barely received at all, especially in America, and the band's final album, The Master Plan, wasn't even released in America.

I'll eventually post up Subliminal Stimulation which in my opinion is quite good. Enjoy these two classic lp's!

01 - Mr. Bubbunut Spills His Guts
02 - My Definition Of A Boombastic Jazz Style
03 - Follow Me Not
04 - Ludi
05 - U Never Know A Good Thing Till U Lose It
06 - And Now The Legacy Begins
07 - Tune From The Missing Channel
08 - Wash Your Face In My Sink
09 - Voyage Through The Multiverse
10 - U Could Get Arrested
11 - Journey On
12 - Face In The Basin
13 - Do Not Feed The Alligators
14 - Twelve Sided Dice
15 - Maximum 60 Lost In A Dream
16 - Answer For The Owl

MediaFire Download

The Future Sound - The Whole Shabang, Vol. 1 (Atlantic 1992)

In the early 90s, The Future Sound (of New Rochelle, New York) were wide-eyed new jack signees on big time Atlantic Records managed (along with Original Flavor) by the brothers Darien and Damon Dash (later of Roc-A-Fella Records fame). Shabang is an undeservedly overlooked work that teems with layered, bouncy rhythms and fantastic, mellifluous rhymes. Emcees Flashback and Relay trade the wordiest of verses in refreshingly unassuming tones that invite flattering, if constraining comparisons to Tribe and De La. Although plainly indebted to the D.A.I.S.Y. Age’s style of speak and coolly narcotic vibe, The Future Sound crew innovates on its influences by sprinkling a measure of humble populism into its ghetto futuristic jams. Shabang’s distinctiveness lies in its abstruse accessibility, the way it replicates the sweetly melodic eccentricity of “Plug Tunin’,” infuses it with the dirty club groove of “Youthful Expression” and leaves the ceremony in the hands of a couple of long-winded, idealistic, pop-culture obsessed everymen. 3XDope and the UMCs released similarly spirited, unconventional debut long-players that have since aged rather nicely, but neither group was half as adept as TFS at smuggling cerebral subject matter into grooves built to bump so lovely. After Critical Beatdown, Shabang is the closest approximation of Rammelzee’s psychedelic freestyles ever committed to wax during rap’s Middle Skool. Flashback and Relay flow with no end in sight while referencing TV shows, records, and books at a breakneck pace rarely achieved by the Native Tongues or their myriad associates. Unlike the frantic namedropping employed by Das EFX, the allusions on this record provide the lengthy raps with additional meaning and substantive context. Like most any rap group then or now, TFS reserve numerous moments for burning wack emcees, keeping the party moving, or speaking on trifling honies. However, they also devote a significant portion of this hugely eclectic, experimental record to a straightforward and unpretentious dialogue with their audience about everyday realities, including those of the harsh and unpleasant variety. Even the most comprehensible track, the Sly Stone beatjack “The Function,” sees the duo implore the party people to let the music take control and yet remain open enough to digest the heady lyrics. It’s a most difficult challenge for certain, as the sounds range from the soulful and noisy “Flashback Relay and the Whole Shabang” to the danceable but dizzying “Lady/What a Bro To Do?” to the sparkling pop of “Pixie Groove.” Nearly every track is a highly distracting head-nodder and TFS get infinite dap for refusing to dumb any of their material down or cakewalk their way to clarity.

Check this link for the comments which have some cool info also.

01 - Intro
02 - This Is a Game
03 - Function
04 - Flashback Relay and The Whole Shabang
05 - Star Struck (Caterpillar Style)
06 - Thread
07 - Bop Step
08 - Lady/What's a Bro to Do?
09 - Pixie Groove
10 - Scriptic Cryptic
11 - Primates in Stitches
12 - Flashback Relay and The Whole Shabang (Wig Out Mix)
13 - Sucka Set
14 - Jungle-O
15 - When the Ends Meet (Life of the Futuristic B-Boy)

zShare Download