Click the Save Template button and now To The Break Of Dawn: Black, Rock & Ron - Stop The World (1989)

Monday, January 31, 2011

Black, Rock & Ron - Stop The World (1989)

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Hailing from Hollis Queens, Lord Black (David Cootryer), The Ruler Master Rock (Gregg Walsh), and Ron Scratch (Ron Walsh) released their first single "Hard Rap" on Next Plateau in 86 under the name the Vicious Four. Released during the emergence of the "New School" where samplers and drum machines such as the Lynn Drum and the SP-12 hit the market, producers and hip-hop artists were better able to create a less expensive and more complex structure to tracks that wasn't previously available without having connections or a backing band. In 1987 Black, Rock & Ron hooked up with Jazzy Jay who produced their next single "That's How I'm Livin" also on Next Plateau. At the request of LL Cool J they then went on to be managed by the one and only Russell Simmons' Rush Town. Then getting signed to RCA Records and featuring co-production by Tony Sims & Thomas Davis and executive production by Jurggen Korduletsch, Black, Rock and Ron put together the material for their debut album "Stop The World". With legendary engineers Paul C, DJ Doc, and Skeff Anselm at the boards they put out an underrated classic, a few 12 inch singles, and a couple videos. They were even involved with the Hip-Hop Against Apartheid - Ndodemnyama (Free South Africa) anti-apartheid song, but like some of the unfortunate rap artists of the time, Black, Rock & Ron just seemed to fall off the face of the Earth into obscurity.

I'm posting the US version along with some of the German release and 12" tracks as a "bonus disc".

320kbps CD Rip
01 - Intro
02 - Stop The World
03 - You Can't Do Me None
04 - True Feelings (True Rock Mix)
05 - Black Is The Word
06 - That's How I'm Livin'
07 - To Hear Black & Rock Rap
08 - Getting Large
09 - Rap Life
10 - Act Like U Know
11 - I'm Tired
12 - 3 Brothers And Yvonne
13 - Black, Rock & Ron (Video Mix)
14 - My Hometown
15 - Who's Got Next

Bonus Tracks
16 - You Can't Do Me None (Prince Paul Remix Vocal Mix)
17 - Tired Of All This
18 - True Feelings (Paul C Hip Hop Remix)
19 - We Be Wilin' (Wild Things)
20 - Black, Rock & Ron (Radio Version)
21 - You Can't Do Me None (Prince Paul Remix Beat Mix)
22 - Pieces I / Pieces II

Download (Sharebee)

1 comment:

MJG196 said...

That is a horrible, HORRIBLE album cover!